Topend Sports Logo

FIFA Puskás Award

The Puskás Award is an annual football award presented by FIFA for the male or female judged to have scored the most aesthetically significant, or "most beautiful", goal of the year. It was first awarded in 2009, and is named after the legendary Hungarian and Real Madrid striker Ferenc Puskás of the 1950s and 1960s.

There is several main criteria for this award. Primarily it is given regardless of nationality, ethnicity, gender or religion. Also, the goal shouldn't be a product of luck, such as a deflection off a defender. Of course, it must also be captured on film. The award was originally decided based solely on fan votes, though after a controversial award in 2018, the voting procedure was changed. Since 2019, the votes by a panel of legends selected by FIFA are also considered.

List of Puskás Award winners

Year Player Notes
2023 Guilherme Madruga A stunning bicycle kick from long range
2022 Marcin Oleksy Polish amputee player Marcin Oleksy scored a stunning, acrobatic volley in his domestic league for Warta Poznan against Stal Rzeszow.
2021 Érik Lamela For the Argentine's audacious rabona and nutmeg goal for Tottenham  against Arsenal. It was also the time a player from the same club had won the award in consecutive years.
2020 Son Heung-Min Tottenham player  Son Heungmin claimed the prize for his solo goal, taking the from near his own penalty area, before dribbling 70 meters to strike against Burnley FC.
2019 Dániel Zsóri for his spectacular overhead kick for Debrecen
2018 Mohamed Salah For his sensational goal against Everton at Anfield, spinning away from his marker in the area before curling a shot into the far top corner.
2017 Oliver Giroud scorpion kick goal against Crystal Palace in the Premier League,
2016 Mohd Faiz Subri A remarkable swerving free kick. He was the first Malaysian to be nominated for the FIFA Puskás Award
2015 Wendell Lira For his twisting bicycle kick playing for Goianesia in Brazil's Goiano.
2014 James Rodríguez The Real Madrid goal for Colombia at the 2012 FIFA World Cup. He chested the ball down with his back to goal, turned and volleyed an unstoppable effort from 25 metres into the top, left-hand corner of the net. It was also voted Goal of the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil
2013 Zlatan Ibrahimović For his amazing  overhead volley into the goal from more than 30 metres in Sweden's friendly match against England 
2012 Miroslav Stoch for a beautiful volley from outside the penalty area
2011 Neymar For a sensational goal against Flamengo, first weaving his way through most of the opposition defence from near the halfway line and pulling off an amazing trick before slotting the ball into the goal.
2010 Hamit Altıntop Bullet-lile first-time shot into the top corner of the net from 18 metres
2009 Cristiano Ronaldo Ronaldo won the award for his long-range goal against Porto in the UEFA Champions League quarter-final 


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite