Topend Sports Logo

England & Wales, 2019

The 2019 World Cup was hosted by England and Wales, the 12th tournament and the fifth time it had been held in England. In addition to the England venues, there were four games held at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff, Wales. England had previously hosted matches in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999.

The tournament was held from 30 May to 15 July 2019, with the final played at Lord's Cricket Ground in London. New Zealand beat one of the pre-tournament favorites in one semi-final to make their second consecutive World Cup Final. In the other semi, England outclassed Australia.

In the final, New Zealand was expected to be an easy beat for the powerhouse England team, but it turned out to be an epic encounter, probably the greatest World Cup match ever. New Zealand's modest total of 241 was nearly enough, with England finishing their 50 overs with the scores tied. The super-over also ended up with the scores tied, with England winning the World Cup based on a count back.

The player of the final was Ben StokesĀ (England), the player of the tournament Kane Williamson (New Zealand). (see more awards)


There were 10 teams playing in the tournament, a decrease from previous World Cups in 2011 and 2015 which featured 14 teams. The teams were: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies. The two Test playing nations that failed to qualify were Ireland and Zimbabwe.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

ICC Cricket World Cup

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite