Topend Sports Logo

Cricket ODI World Cup - India, 2023

The 13th 2023 Cricket ODI World Cup was held in India, from 5 Oct 19 Nov 2023. It was the fourth time that India had hosted this event, though it was the first time they hosted the event on their own. In 2011 they co-hosted with Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, and in 1996 they co-hosted with Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

England were the defending champions, having won the previous edition (in 2019). The op ening match was a reply of the epic final in 2019 between England and New Zealand.Australia won the final, upsetting India who had dominated the group games, going into the final undefeated. It was Australia's 6th World Cup tournament win.


The tournament featured ten teams. India automatically qualified as hosts. Another seven times qualified through the ICC Super League (Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa), and two via a qualifier tournament (Netherlands and Sri Lanka).

Three Test playing nations failed to qualify: West Indies, Ireland and Zimbabwe. The West Indies team failed to qualify for the Cricket World Cup for the first time.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

ICC Cricket World Cup

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite