Topend Sports Logo

2011 World Cup in Bangladesh, India & Sri Lanka

The Cricket World Cup for 2011 was held in Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka. It was the 10th time this tournament had been held. Pakistan were originally going to also co-host this event, but due to security concerns in the years leading up to the event Pakistan's hosting rights were revoked.

The tournament was won by India over Sri Lanka in the final.


The format of the tournament was revised from previous events, and 14 teams participated instead of 16. The new format ensured that each team played a minimum of six matches even if they were ruled out of the tournament due to early defeats. The first match was played on 19 February 2011, with the final played at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on 2 April 2011.


Here are the 14 national cricket teams which competed in 2011.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

ICC Cricket World Cup

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite