Topend Sports Logo

West Indies, 2007

The 2007 ICC World Cup of Cricket was held in April 2007. It was the 9th World Cup tournament, and the first time it had been held in the West Indies. In the final Australia defeated Sri Lanka to win their third consecutive World Cup and their fourth overall.

Competing Teams

The tournament consisted of 16 teams, including all 10 Test playing nations and 6 qualifiers. The 10 Test match playing countries plus Kenya qualified automatically. The other five teams qualified via the 2005 ICC Trophy. The field of sixteen teams is the largest ever for the Cricket World Cup. The teams and their initial groups are listed in the table below. You can also see the schedule of games.

Finals System - how it works

The 16 teams will be allocated into four groups of four. Within each group, the teams will play each other in a round-robin format and the top two teams will advance to a 'Super 8' round. These eight teams will again play in a round-robin format, except that they will not play the other team that advanced from their respective group. The top four teams from the Super 8 round will advance to the semi-finals, and the winners of the semi-finals will then compete in the final, to be held at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, on 28 April.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

ICC Cricket World Cup

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite