Topend Sports Logo

Australia & New Zealand, 2015

The 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup was the 11th time this tournament had been held. The event was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, with the final held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). Half the games were played in each of Australia and New Zealand. The event was held from 14 February to 29 March 2015.

This was the second time that the tournament was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, the first being the 1992 Cricket World Cup.


14 nations participated in the 2015 World Cup, the same number as in 2011 (there were 16 in 2007).

The 10 test playing nations (and automatic qualifiers) are as follows:Australia, Bangladesh, England, India,New Zealand,Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe. In addition, there were four associate or affiliate member nations who had to proceed through qualifying. The successful teams were Ireland, Afghanistan, Scotland and United Arab Emirates.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

ICC Cricket World Cup

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite