Topend Sports Logo

World Cup Previous Winners

Winners List

Here are the full list of winners of the previous men's FIFA World Cups. Brazil has won the most titles, and Italy and Brazil are the only countries to win back to back titles, will it be Argentina's turn in 2026?

Click on the highlighted text for more information about each host city and participating country. Are you looking for more details about the 2026 World Cup? Or the winners of the Women's World Cup?

Hosts Winner Score
2026 Nth America    
2022 Qatar Argentina 3-3, then Argentina defeated France 4-2 in penalties
2018 Russia France France 4-2 Croatia
2014 Brazil Germany Germany 1-0 Argentina
2010 South Africa Spain Spain 1-0 Netherlands
2006 Germany Italy 1-1, then Italy beat France 5-3 in penalties
2002 Korea & Japan Brazil Brazil 2-0 Germany
1998 France France France 3-0 Brazil
1994 USA Brazil 0-0, then Brazil defeated Italy 3-2 in penalties
1990 Italy Germany Germany 1-0 Argentina
1986 Mexico Argentina Argentina 3-2 Germany
1982 Spain Italy Italy 3-1 Germany
1978 Argentina Argentina Argentina 3-1 Netherlands
1974 Germany Germany Germany 2-1 Netherlands
1970 Mexico Brazil Brazil 4-1 Italy
1966 England England England 4-2 Germany
1962 Chile Brazil Brazil 3-1 Czechoslovakia
1958 Sweden Brazil Brazil 5-2 Sweden
1954 Switzerland Germany Germany 3-2 Hungary
1950 Brazil Uruguay Uruguay 2-1 Brazil
1946 not held
1942 not held
1938 France Italy Italy 4-2 Hungary
1934 Italy Italy Italy 2-1 Czechoslovakia
1930 Uruguay Uruguay Uruguay 4-2 Argentina

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.


Commentling on this page is generally closed, though I will post some selected comments.

1 Brazil 5 Times Winner / 6 Times in the Final
2 Germany 4 Times Winner/ 8 Times in the Final
3 Italy 4 Times Winner/ 6 Times in the Final
4 Argentina 2 Times Winner/ 5 Times in the Final
5 Uruguay 2 Times Winner / 2 Times in the Final
6 France 1 Time Winner / 2 Times in the Final
7 Spain 1 Time Winner / 1 Time in the Final
7 England 1 Time Winner/ 1 Time in the Final
8 Netherlands 0 Time Winner / 3 Time in the Final
9 Czechoslovakia 0 Time Winner/ 2 Time in the Final
9 Hungary 0 Time Winner / 2 Time in the Final
10 Sweden 0 Time Winner / 1 Time in the Final

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next men's World Cup will be held held jointly in Canada, USA and Mexico 2026, for the women the next will be Brazil in 2027. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite