Topend Sports Logo

Participating Countries at the World Cup

32 countries participated at the 2022 FIFA World Cup. Debutants to qualify were Panama and Iceland. Shocks and surprises included the following teams to miss out: Italy, Netherlands, USA, Algeria, Cameroon, Ireland, Ghana, and Chile. See the full list of qualifiers for 2022. The next World Cup will be in 2026.

List of Countries that have participated in World Cups

This list includes all countries that have qualified and played in the FIFA World Cup finals.

Past Countries that have participated at the World Cup (no longer countries)

Countries that have played in the qualifiers, though are yet to play in the World Cup finals

Afghanistan,  Albania,  American Samoa, Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Aruba, Azerbaijan,  Bahamas,  Bahrain,  Bangladesh,  Barbados,  Belarus, Belize, Benin,  Bermuda, Bhutan,  Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chinese Taipei, Comoros, Congo, Cook Islands, Curaçao, Cyprus, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea,  Eritrea,  Estonia,  Eswatini, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland,  Gabon,  Gambia,  Georgia, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guam, Guatemala, Guinea,  Guinea-Bissau, Guyana,  Hong Kong,  India,  Jordan, Kazakhstan,  Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan,  Laos,  Latvia,  Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia,  Libya,  Liechtenstein,  Lithuania, Luxembourg,  Macau,  Madagascar, Malawi,  Malaysia,  Maldives,  Mali,  Malta,  Mauritania, Mauritius, Moldova,  Mongolia,  Montenegro,  Montserrat,  Mozambique,  Myanmar, Nepal, Namibia,  New Caledonia,  Nicaragua,  Niger,  North Macedonia,  Oman,  Pakistan, Palestine,  Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Rwanda, Saar, Saint Kitts and Nevis,  Saint Lucia,  Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé and Príncipe,  Seychelles,  Sierra Leone,  Singapore,  Solomon Islands,  Somalia,  South Sudan,  South Yemen,  Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tahiti,  Tajikistan,  Tanzania, Thailand,  Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands,  Tuvalu,  U.S. Virgin Islands,  Uganda,  Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next men's World Cup will be held held jointly in Canada, USA and Mexico 2026, for the women the next will be Brazil in 2027. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite