Topend Sports Logo

Six Nations Championship

The Six Nations Championship is one of many events in the international Rugby Union calendar. It is an annual competition between six European sides: England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales. The Rugby Championship is a similar tournament held between team in the Southern Hemisphere.

In the current format, each team plays every other team once, with home field advantage alternating from one year to the next. The winners of the Six Nations Championship are also known as the European Champions.


Prior to 2000, the tournament was the Five Nations Championship (1910–1931, 1940–1999). The competition's previous incarnation was also the Home Nations Championship (1883–1909, 1932–1939), played between teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Recent Results

Only the results since 2000 are shown.

Year Champions Notes
2023 Ireland Ireland won the tournament for a 15th time, along with their fourth Grand Slam.
2022 France France won the Championship and the Grand Slam – both for the first time since 2010.
2021 Wales Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the tournament started just three months after the end of the previous tournament and all matches took place without spectators.
2020 England It was England's 39th title overall (including shared titles), drawing them level with the record Wales set the previous year
2019 Wales Wales won the championship for the first time since 2013
2018 Ireland Ireland won their 3rd ever Grand Slam
2017 England The championship was won by England with a round to spare (the same as last year)
2016 England England won the Championship with a game to play, winning their first Championship since 2011.
2015 Ireland Ireland retained their title from the previous year, their 13th win in the competition
2014 Ireland  Ireland won their 12th title.
2013 Wales Wales tore apart England in the final to claim their second consecutive Six Nations title. The final was played in Cardiff, Wales.
2012 Wales  
2011 England  
2010 France  
2009 Ireland  
2008 Wales  
2007 France  
2006 France  
2005 Wales  
2004 France  
2003 England  
2002 France  
2001 England  
2000 England  

Grand Slams

If a team wins all of its games, they are said to have won a 'Grand Slam'. Here are the Grand Slam winners since 2000.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Rugby World Cup Extra

The next men's Rugby World Cup will be played in France in 2023. See the list of winners, and more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup. There is also a Women's World Cup.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite