Topend Sports Logo

Participating Countries at the Commonwealth Games

There are 72 member countries in the Commonwealth Games Federation, despite the commonwealth of Nations having only 54 members. The higher number of competing nations is because the four UK Home Nations send separate teams to the Commonwealth Games, as do individual British Crown Dependencies, several British overseas territories, the Australian external territory of Norfolk Island, and two non-sovereign states in free association with New Zealand, the Cook Islands and Niue. Only six of these teams have attended every Commonwealth Games - Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite