Topend Sports Logo

The Commonwealth Youth Games

The Commonwealth Youth Games is a smaller version of the Commonwealth Games, designed for the youth of the 71 Commonwealth countries.

The competitors of the Youth Games have to be at least 14 and at the most 18, in the year of competition. A maximum number of 1,000 competitors take part from every Commonwealth Games Association.

The first-ever Commonwealth Youth Games were held in Edinburgh, Scotland in August 2000.  There were 733 participating athletes from 14 countries. They competed in 8 sports for 3 days.

The second edition of the CYG was held in Bendigo, Australia in December 2004. There were 1,000 participating athletes from 22 countries competed in 10 different sports.

The third Commonwealth Youth Games were held in Pune (an Indian City) in October 2008. 71 countries competed against each other and played in 9 different sports.

The Commonwealth Games Federation decided to move the CYG outside of the Olympics year. By doing that, they awarded the 2011 Commonwealth Youth Games the Isle of Man.

In 2008, there was also a decision to award the 2015 Youth Games to Samoa and also afterward, adjust to a quadrennial cycle. An event was held in 2017 (Nassau, The Bahamas) then 2023 (Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago - nicknamed Trinbago 2023).

List of Sports in the Commonwealth Youth Games

The next Commonwealth Youth Games

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The biggest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite